Posted by: rainbowclovers | January 2, 2010

Winter Break? … Where was the break?

School is starting in another day. After tomorrow, I’m back at school. This Winter “Break” lasted two weeks. I hardly did anything fun. Most of my time was spent at home doing my ISPs. I went out twice, and both times were fun. I’m glad I had this break, but was it really a “break”?

While most of the other high school kids went out almost everyday to hang out with friends, I was at home doing big assignments and other homework. The free time I had, I was on the computer or reading. Any other time left over, I was allowed out of the house to go hang out with friends. So, sure I’m grateful I got the chance to sleep in and all, but I was just hoping we had less work to do. What kind of “break” is it when 80% of the time was used towards working? Sure, the teacher was nice to give us the holiday to work on it, but it just means I’m forced to do it over my holiday break. I go to sleep every night thinking about what I have to add to my PowerPoint Presentation the next morning. With my attention span, it took a couple of days to do my PowerPoint Presentation. I’m almost done now, which makes me happy inside.

The only thing is, when we get back to school, there will be mark updates, and it’s time to review for exams. With exams coming, I decided to start preparing a bit now. When my dad saw me preparing, he told me to write down all the questions I needed to ask the tutor tomorrow, which I had already intended to do anyways. He asked if I had around 20 questions to ask the tutor tomorrow. I told him that I had way more than that since it’s ALL the questions I had since September. He stared at me with a blank face and said “You’re gonna fail the exam.”

Well, gee, thanks dad. You’re just the rock I need in my life. Yeah, sure he’s paying for me to go to a tutor to get better grades, but do you really need to be so pessimistic all the time? Since I went to the tutor, most of my tests and quiz marks have gone up. Not by much, but there is definitely improvement. I’m hoping that I’ll achieve a decent mark in exams since it’s a standard exam and it won’t be as difficult as the math I’m doing now. I refuse to do crap in math for the final mark. If anything, I’m getting good grades so I can shove it in my parent’s face. FIGHT-O!

Anyways, today was my mom’s birthday. We went to Star Walk buffet to have .. a meal. That meal basically lasted me the whole day since I ate nothing but the food at the buffet. I stuffed myself, since I’m such a fat arse. Three plates of sushi, two or three plates of the other food like fried noodles, dumplings, tofu, sweet and sour pour, and much more. Then there was a small plate of salad, and dessert. My mouth is watering just naming these things again.

Tomorrow I’m going to the tutor, and at 6 p.m, we’ll be going to the airport to pick up my friend who’s returning to Toronto after her Winter Break at home (Macau). I wish I had her Winter break. What better way to relax than to be across the globe spending time with your family? Sure, she brought textbooks along with her, but she could study in between all the fun things she got to do. Sigh. This was a pretty crap Winter Break. Next holiday? March break. I hope I pass math first though.

Daily MLIA:

1. ɐıןɯ ˙ʇı ƃuıpɐǝɹ ǝןqnoɹʇ ɥɔnɯ sɐ ǝʌɐɥ ʇuoʍ ı puɐ pǝʇoʌ ʇǝƃ ןןıʍ ʇı ʇɐɥʇ ƃuıdoɥ ‘ʎɹoʇs sıɥʇ ǝʇıɹʍ oʇ pǝpıɔǝp uǝɥʇ ı ˙uʍopǝpısdn spɹoʍ ǝɥʇ ןןɐ ƃuıʞɐɯ ‘pǝq ǝɥʇ ɹǝʌo ƃuıƃuɐɥ pɐǝɥ ʎɯ ɥʇıʍ ɐıןɯ pɐǝɹ oʇ ǝʞıן ı ‘ʎɐpʎɹǝʌǝ

2. Today, I went Christmas shopping with my Mom and Grandma. Mom was looking for “Dicks”, a hunting and camping store, when my Grandma told her that it had been closed down because it was an older building. I said from the backseat “Old Dicks just can’t stay up.” My mom yelled at me while my Grandma laughed into hysterics. MLIA

3. Yesterday, my roommate and I came back to the dorms from Thanksgiving break. He brought back beer. I brought back Play-Doh and gummy bears. MLIA

Leave a Reply

Categories

