Posted by: rainbowclovers | January 8, 2010

The Element of Surprise

Some would say the element of surprise is a good thing. Some people would disagree. I’m one of those people who would disagree. Ever since I was a kid, I never liked the element of surprise. Whether it was for a bad reason, or a good reason, I never liked it. In grade one, my best friend laughed when I got bullied by someone older. I didn’t like the surprising feeling I felt when my friend wasn’t there to help me when I truly believed she was a kind person. When people get me birthday or Christmas gifts, and don’t tell me what it is, I don’t like it as well. It’s a “good” surprise, but I’m a person who likes to know. I prefer to always be included and prepared. I hate the feeling of being unsure and not knowing what to expect and what to do.

Today, I walked into math class hoping I could ask my math teacher some homework questions I didn’t understand. I walked into the classroom, and I hear my classmates screaming, “Oh my god! Pop quiz today!”. I literally felt a lump form inside me. I  hardly knew anything from this unit, and I had so much questions to ask. The thing is, my teacher promised in the beginning of the year that we would never get pop quizzes, and that we wouldn’t even have a quiz for this unit. Surprise, surprise.

That math quiz just added to the list of why I hate surprises. I don’t see the point of not informing someone of something to keep the element of surprise and to see their reaction when they see or hear it. Plus, not only did I not understand a question, I realized I messed up on my other calculations as well. Life’s good, isn’t it?

January 8th, 2010 – First bad day of the new year.

No MLIAs today, I have science work to do.

Leave a Reply

Categories

