Posted by: rainbowclovers | February 13, 2010

2010 Winter Olympics!

I had completely forgotten that yesterday was the first day of the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver. Actually .. to be honest, I’ve been a bit out of it lately. I’m not in the best mood, and I feel like I’m under a lot of stress. That first sentence in this paragraph took me 3 tries to type.

Anyways, I’ll start off by saying: The opening was nothing compared to the Beijing Opening Ceremony. I’m not just saying this because I’m Chinese, since Canada is where I’m born. However, I still think the opening was pretty well done. Beijing’s opening had a bit more .. “oomph” feeling. It felt more precise, strong, and power. Vancouver’s opening was a bit more mystical/magical, and had a more relaxed feel to it.

The opening with a skier (Sorry, I don’t know names) jumping through one of the circles of the Olympic symbol was pretty cool. The singing of the national anthem and the performance with Nelly Furtado was also fun. I think what I thought was really cool was the virtual ground. I don’t know how to describe it. If you don’t know what I’m talking about .. maybe some kind soul will upload it on Youtube later on.

Unfortunately, they were a mistake during the lighting of the fire/torch.

Here’s a link to a more descriptive report on the opening ceremonies: Report on 2010 Winter Olympics.

Aside from that, tomorrow is Chinese New Years in Canada. People in China, Vietnam, and all those countries are already celebrating as I post this.

Isn’t Miga the cutest thing ever?

Responses

  1. It wasn’t a skier… it was a snowboarder^^ But yeah, that part was so cool! he like fly down that mountain at lightning speed~ and then people were on the mountain with glow stick things making the shape of a maple leaf. That was cool. And then they like made it look like he was flying through the rings right after he flew off the mountain.
    && agreed, beijing’s was cooler, cause they’re more high-tech

    • Oh .. I didn’t remember. Oh well. Same thing. Either way, it was really cool.

  2. The Men’s Olympic downhill is now underway. Here is your virtual Olymipic Men’s downhill course. http://blog.virtualwhistler.com/?page_id=22


Leave a Reply

Categories

